National Immunisation Program


The National Immunisation Program (NIP) eligibility for seasonal influenza vaccine.

From January 1, 2010 eligibility for free vaccine under the National Immunisation Program (NIP) has been extended to include:

Pregnant women;
All individuals aged 65 years and over;
Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander children aged 6 months to less than 5 years, and those aged 15 years and over;
Individuals aged 6 months and over with medical conditions predisposing to severe influenza, namely;
  • Cardiac disease, including cyanotic congenital heart disease, coronary artery disease and congestive heart failure
  • Chronic respiratory conditions, including suppurative lung disease, chronic obstructive pulmonary disease and severe asthma
  • Other chronic illnesses requiring regular medical follow up or hospitalisation in the previous year, including diabetes mellitus, chronic metabolic diseases, chronic renal failure and haemoglobinopathies
  • Chronic neurological conditions that impact on respiratory function, including multiple sclerosis, spinal cord injuries and seizure disorders
  • Impaired immunity, including HIV, malignancy and chronic steroid use
  • Children aged 6 months to 10 years on long term aspirin therapy

For more information, visit: 


Page published:  January 2014

Page updated:  6 March 2017